CUSTOMER SATISFACTION


Wait Time
71
Selection
87
Customer Service
89
Quality
90
Environment
80
Other
16
Unspecified

43







 Reviews


St. Louis Post‑Dispatch
Sep 28, 2014 - We sent three reporters to area wine trails: Hermann, Augusta, Ste. ... Even if you don't really like wine, a trip to a winery can be like a getaway to a faraway land. ... 

ENVIRONMENT, CUSTOMER SERVICE, QUALITY, WAIT TIME, SELECTION, OTHEr



reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 25 at 2:46pm · 
If you're looking for views, crowds and value priced "wine" this isn't for you. Clearly the superior winery in the area and rivals many of those celebrated.



reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
We visited Holy Grail Winery and had the BEST wine we have ever tasted! I am glad we made the hour and 30 minute trip to get there. I had researched wineries in the Augusta area and was drawn to it by it's unique characteristics: a) high quality, small quantity production, reserve only wines, b) each wine is hand bottled c) small not crowded in-town location, d) the owners meet you and explain everything, and e) chocolate pairings.

The owner is extremely particular with his wine making and only uses Missouri oak barrels to age the wines and the difference is very remarkable. The wines are exceptionally smooth!!! I have never tasted wines this smooth. The finish is incredible.

We began a our tasting with the Bordeaux and worked our way to the sweeter wines. When it was time to try the port wines, I stated that i would pass because they are too sweet. The owners said "our port is not any you have ever had and not syrupy sweet as you might expect." So I tried them and was amazed - they were exactly as the owners described them. So we kept tasting and even tried the Cabernet Sauvignon Ice Wine. It was perfect and not as sweet as I expected it to be. Every wine we tasted was excellent.

The prices are considerably higher in price than other wines in the area but that reflects the expense of making limited quantities of high quality wine. And these wines are worth it!

Warning - once you experience the wines at Holy Grail Winery, you will never want to drink any other wine! It's that good!

Bottom line - We will be back!



Love the wines an worth the 7 hour trip!  we will be back in 2 years! You guys are awesome!



LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THEIR WINE
I truly can't compare these wines to the other Missouri wines I have had. They are fantastic. The owners are very informative and the tasting room was adorable. I want to say it will ruin you for the other Missouri wines. Can't wait to come back!


reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
Incredibly friendly atmosphere and knowledgeable staff. They make you feel right at home. Really excited about their expansion, but the original location is ADORABLE. Oh, and the wine... was, everything. 



reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
My wife and I were tremendously impressed with QUALITY of the wine! The owners Lonnie and Sharon sat with us and gave us the full story of their wine history. They are amazing people who I now consider friends. My wife and I have been to almost every winery in the area and we can say without hesitation that Holy Grail has the best wine we've ever had! This is the only winery we will be going to for a long time. Thanks for a great day!Holy Grail Winery


reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
July 8 at 7:38pm · 
Some of the best wine I've had in Missouri. By far the best Norton I've ever had (Norton Reserve). So glad I was introduced to this place. The wine was amazing and the owners are super sweet. I can't wait to come back 


reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
Holy grail winery was not on our map but we saw it and stopped. Out of the 8 wineries we tasted at yesterday this was by far the best. I like that we could choose what we tasted as well. I purchased the chocolate port which is the first port I've ever liked. My friend purchased the ice wine.




“Excellent ”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I just discovered this place today! I loved it! It's a little boutique winery with a lot of charm. Great wine, and wonderful chocolates!! I will definitely be back



4/1/17, 10:09 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Absolutely wonderful. Thanks for serving us with such fine wines, chocolates and personal service

3/18/17, 5:34 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Their wines are just superb!

3/5/17, 4:47 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Excellent wine, very cozy environment, great customer service.


2/26/17, 6:58 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Like I said, I've tried others and yours is still the best!!

2/19/17, 7:40 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Excellent red wines. Nice owners. Beautiful day. What more could you want.

Today, 6:19 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Best kept secret for wine in the area. Superior wines regardless of region. Lonnie only puts the best on the shelf. Quality over quantity. No need to visit other wineries in the area.

Yesterday, 9:22 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
We love the fact that you were not stingy with samples. It's funny that we did not pay a sample fee, but you are the only winery we purchased a bottle of wine at. My fiance and I both purchased a bottle and talked extensively about our experience and how pleasant it was.

12/31/16, 2:23 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
This is the second time we've been to the winery, and each time we felt so welcomed by the owners. Looking forward to more visits , especially the chocolate and wine pairing event. Such an intimate setting . Great owners! Thank you very much!!

“Great visit, personalized attention, great wines!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We visited on a Saturday early afternoon in February. There were a few customers in an outside seating area relaxing with wine but the small tasting room was relatively quiet. It's very charming inside and right away you can smell the chocolate that they sell.

We were there to try the wines, of which they had several to choose. Right away we were greeted by the owners. We were asked about our preferences and wine was being poured almost instantly after that! 

The wine was very good and it was interesting to learn about the small craft production of most of their offerings. Since they did import grapes from outside the region, they have a little bit more to offer than some of the other wineries, especially if you are in to dry reds. 

Everything we tried was good! We were also given some cheese, venison salami, and dark chocolate to sample with the wine offerings. It made everything even better! The chocolate port was very good and was an easy selection to purchase.

If this had not been our first stop we probably would have relaxed on the deck and enjoyed a glass, Next time we definitely will. Maybe we'll check out the very intriguing chocolate/wine tasting!Visited February 2017

“Love of small wineries.”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Very enjoyable, wine tasting. The owners, told about there wines., and because it is theirs, they were passionate about them. Rightfully so. Went away with 3 bottles. Will definitely stop in when we are back that way.


Charming Tasting Room, Great Chocolate Port” 4 of 5  Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holy Grail is housed in a small structure with parking on the street and on the side. The space is charming and welcoming. Their wines are rich and delicious, the chocolate port is really an experience, so delicious!



reviewed Holy Grail Winery - 5 Star

Great place great wine and great hospitality.  Very cozy and enjoyable atmosphere.  5 stars!  A must if doing wine tasting in the area.


reviewed Holy Grail Winery - 5 Star

First had the Holy Grail wine at Thanksgiving. Ice wine. Absolutely wonderful. Can't wait to go to the winery.


reviewed Holy Grail Winery - 5 star

"AMAZING".


 reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 30 at 3:30pm · 
Friends and I stumbled upon this winery and I'm in love, the owners were very friendly and down to earth. The wines are superb and the chocolates just topped it off, I will be a regular at Holy Grail. The only winery I know that makes and sell a white port and it was the best.



Today, 7:06 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Even though we knew ahead of time you were out of some wines, there were still plenty to try. The atmosphere inside was so neat. I loved the decanters you keep your wine in for sampling.

Best one. By far. Go here."
[5 of 5 stars] 2 days ago Reviewed by mattkmo
The quality of the wine here is unequaled by any Missouri winery I have experienced. I almost want to keep this secretive little gem to myself, but feel compelled to share. Lonnie and Sharon were very accommodating, kind, and hospitable. The atmosphere here was so much more relaxed and personal than the status quo of their competitors. Sure, some of the major wineries in the area have impressive views, and admittedly Holy Grail does not have that fancy view... but if you close your eyes and take a sip of the Petit Sirah, it doesn't matter! You'll be in your own personal heaven. My wife and I bought a bottle to save for a special occasion. I did not try any of the white wines but would imagine them to be very good as well. We will be back!

11/06/2016
Great place great wine & great hospitality.  Very cozy & enjoyable atmosphere.  5 stars!  A must if doing wine tasting in the area.


Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
It was a very enjoyable experience.

Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time

Everything.  Great atmosphere, great wine, Unique - very different from other Augusta Winery's.​

Yesterday, 12:08 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Your wine is so delicious. Enjoyed it immensely. Will see you again. 

10/15/16, 5:30 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
We will be back!

10/3/16, 9:05 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Selection, Wait Time
Good chocolate smells throughout. Prefer tasting the reds. Nice change from the crowds. We'll be back.

“Very good wine in a charming tasting room”
[4 of 5 stars] Reviewed 3 days ago NEW
They have a lovely small patio outside, and allow people to bring in their own food and pets if they wish. If you have a large group, I recommend going first/early in the day or calling them ahead of time so they know to expect you. This is a small tasting room and winery, and relatively new, but their wine plays with the big boys of the area just fine. They are doing a really good job making wine, touted to only be aged in Missouri White Oak barrels. (I can't confirm if all the wine is 100% Missouri grapes.)

Note: Both Holy Grail's 2013 Pinot Noir and Blumenhof's 2013 Cabernet Sauvignon are Missouri-grape only reds that are worthy of California wine snob tastes. Look for area Missouri reds from 2013 for that matter - that year was surprisingly good for grapes that are usually very difficult to grow and bottle at all in Missouri - let alone have them turn out so full and well-balanced.Visited October 2016

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 9 at 5:55pm · 
Excellent wine selection! Owners are super friendly!!

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 2 at 1:10pm · 
This was our first stop in Augusta. The wine was delicious and the hostess was delightful. Next time I'm definitely doing the chocolate and wine pairing!

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 2 at 11:03am · 
We did a wine pairing with chocolates and it was very good. Best wine we had this weekend.

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 1 at 12:42pm · 
Delicious wines. Wonderful owners. Will definitely return.

Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time, Customer Service
Holy Grail Winery is one of the best wineries in Missouri !! Love the attention each customer gets plus the outstanding wine selections and tastes. Love this place !!

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 10 at 3:03pm
So pretty and one of my favorites and the chocolate is to die for!

Our new favorite Missouri winery. The winemaker/owner is friendly and knowledgeable. The wine tasting was wonderfully paired with local meat and cheese. We will definitely be back.

Today, 6:26 am
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Can't wait to stop at the Holy Grail when we're in Augusta!! One of our favorite places.

Today, 9:10 am
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
My favorite winery.

"best little winery in Missouri"
[5 of 5 stars] yesterday
this is the winery that should be the first on your list when visiting the Augusta wineries near St Louis. this would be classified as a small boutique winery with SUPERIOR wines. it is owned and operated by a husband and wife who are the wine makers. with years of experience . it is not often I write a review but with these wines and the knowledge they share with you about their wines and the personal service they give-----this wonderful experience needs to be shared with everyone. once these wines are savored ---and do try the wine and chocolate pairings ( to die for ) you will come to realize BIGGER doesn't equal better. truly a unique winery in every way---simple but SAVY 

9/6/16, 9:12 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Again....the experience was incredible and meeting you both was great. Loved it...Had sooooo much fun! Thanks! Hope to see you this fall.

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 5 at 6:35pm · 
Our first stop was the Holy Grail Winery in Augusta, MO. Lonnie & Sharon are the best hosts by FAR. We tried every wine and bought them all. Even 2 bottles of Signature 7. Bottles #85 & #88 of 192. We loved our visit with them and all the wine was the BEST we've had anywhere!!! Thanks Lonnie & Sharon. See you next time around.

9/6/16, 9:10 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
EVERYTHING was INCREDIBLE...can't wait to come back! Thanks!

9/3/16, 6:05 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Great venue, owners were gracious. Will go back when in the area again

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 3 at 12:07am · 
What an amazing little gem in the heart of wine country! Had a gathering for our wedding party on their patio and what a success! Wines are excellent and Sharon and Lonnie we so accommodating, could not have planned a better evening or location! A wonderful experience! Thank you!!

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile -5 star.  Excellent red wines, esp the ice wine. Best wines we had all day. Well worth the trip to Augusta. Hosts were very knowledgeable. Awesome chocolates too. We will be back.Visited August 2016

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
This place is amazing! Everything you try is perfection! It's the #1 place to try!

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
OMG, so much better than all the Mo wines we tried today.....

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
Yesterday at 6:23pm · 
Wow! So impressed with EVERYTHING! A hidden gem... sharon and lonnie are amazing hosts. Highly recommended this place.

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
August 8 at 8:17pm · 
Amazing attention to detail! The chocolate and wine tasting is a must for a unique approach to wine tasting. They make it a very special experience.

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
August 6 at 3:34pm · 
Best wine I have tasted in Missouri yet. High quality!

Today, 3:49 pm
We had a very nice experience at the Holy Grail Winery!  We look forward to our next visit!  

Today, 2:29 pm
Customer Service, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Excellent reds!

Yesterday, 6:50 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Great place, really liked all the different versions on bottles on the counter

8/14/16, 2:13 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Can't beat the wines! Small winery with personal attention that is unparalleled

8/13/16, 8:20 am
Customer Service, Environment, Other, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
The best wine ever!

8/8/16
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Friendly folks

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
June 5 · 
Awesome time, enjoyed a Sunday outing with friends will most definitely come back! Worth the try, you will not be disappointed.

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
July 22 at 1:23pm · 
This winery was a sheer delight! Lonnie and Sharon were so nice and the pairings of chocolate and wine were incredible. A must see and taste!

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
July 24 at 9:38pm · 

I have never liked wine until today, Holy Grail Winery has changed that. Their sweet wines are far superior to anything I have ever tasted, will recommend them over all others.

“WINE”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The best winery, with the best owners hands down! This place will make it hard to buy a bottle of wine elsewhere! Lonnie and Sharon know what they are doing. I recommend the Vidal Blanc, Petite Verdo, and Norton all are excellent. If you are not a red drinker try this place, it will change your perspective!

"Best reds in the area"
[5 of 5 stars] 4 days ago
We came upon Holy Grail one day and could not believe these delicious wines! Small and personal with the owners/winemaker manning the tasting bar. Lonnie makes the wines himself and when they sell out, that's it. You have never tasted a Norton like theirs. The wine and chocolate pairing is excellent and well worth the trip.

"Annual winery weekend "
[5 of 5 stars] yesterday Reviewed by Lynn D
Love this little unique winery. Sharon and Lonnie treated us like members of their family. Beautiful shop, luscious wines, so very unique in the presentation and sampling No wait time for us. It will be a must on our next wine trip.  

[5.0 star rating]
8/14/2016

This winery is a hidden gem! Small but the excellent wines make up for that. The Norton is unbelievable. The owner ( and winemaker) are onsite and can tell you everything about the wines. Also, they offer a wine and chocolate pairing that is out of this world. 
Bring your own food because they don't have a kitchen. Or just fill yourself with wine and chocolate.

8/11/2016
"Winery that stands out!"
[5 of 5 stars] 3 days ago Reviewed by Brenda N
We stopped at Holy Grail a week ago while meandering about on a winery crawl, and it was a definite highlight of the day! Housed in an unprepossessing but charming historical building downtown, Holy Grail is newer to the Missouri Winery market but it is already highly competitive in quality. The owners were very nice and friendly, and we did a wine tasting. A difference with Holy Grail is the presentation of wine and chocolate tastings. We did a regular wine tasting but Lonnie offered us a sample of a wine paired with a chocolate, and it was amazing. There’s a kind of small French Bistro ambience to the place, (I really loved the decanter collection) with a front display case featuring small exquisite chocolates. We purchased a bottle of Signature 7, a truly one of a kind, rich, 7-blend dry red that just amazed us. It was a lovely visit and we will be returning.

8/7/2016
Best wine on the tour.  I mean the BEST.  Don't miss coming here.

8/2/2016
Wonderful experience!! We visited 4 wineries in the area and this was the best! The wine pairings and the chocolates were amazing. 

7/30/16, 3:41 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection, Wait Time
Great service and wine...thank you!

7/23/16, 3:13 pm
Customer Service, Environment, Quality, Selection
The Ice Wine is to die for.

"Exceptional Wine"
[5 of 5 stars] yesterday
We often do winery tasting and ended up at The Holy Grail because our daughter loved the name and so glad we did! It is a small winery, but worth the visit. The pairing of wine and chocolates is a fantastic experience. Their vignoles is very good, we bought 2 bottles and the cabernet sauvignon ice wine is also amazing. I think we will have to go back and buy a bottle of that also. There are a lot of wineries in the area, but this has to be one of the best.

7/9/16, 8:41 pm
"Personal attention and respect for our appreciation and delight in the marvelous wine offerings there".

"Exceptional wines at the Holy Grail, Augusta Missouri"
[5 of 5 stars] 4 days ago
Stumbled on this winery when passing through Augusta. I had tried several of the local wineries and hadn't found something truly exceptional. I did the Grail's chocolate and wine tasting combination ($10 for 5 wines paired with 5 chocolates). The first taste told me these were exceptional wines. Lovely full-bodied reds and delicious complex whites. I have since been back to try and buy more of their wines---all have been wonderful. The owners are proud of their wines and a wealth of knowledge. Given these are artisan wines in smaller quantities, there is a real risk they will sell out. I may resort to hoarding. Don't miss out.

“Best Winery in MO”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 1 week ago

Our whole experience at the winery was exceptional. Their local wine is some of the most delicious and beautiful wine I have ever had. The owners Lonnie and Sharon are so knowledge about their wines and made everyone feel extremely welcome. We had such a wonderful day at Holy Grail Winery and I cannot recommend them enough. I guarantee you...

"The Best Dry Reds in Missouri by far"
[5 of 5 stars] yesterday
The wines at Holy Grail are excellent! I've been to several winery's  in the area and this one stands out!  Definitely will return with friends.

7/8/2016  1:04 pm
Wonderful! Perfect place for any occasion, or just an afternoon! The BEST wine (and chocolates ) anywhere!

7/4/16, 10:18 pm
We enjoyed getting to know the vintner and the food and wine pairings were lovely. We'll stop by again.

7/2/16, 9:41 am
We love your wines! We love the chocolate pairings as well!

(5 of 5 stars)
Wonderful little winery, different from any other in the area.  The tastings are a great value and the chocolates that they are paired with are decadent and delicious. Although it doesn't boast the view of some other locations, the small-town feel and high -quality of the wine definitely shows and sets Holy Grail apart.

6/25/2016
Unexpected stop that resulted in an unexpectedly exquisite tasting experience!

6/25/2016
The best wine in the universe! Ultra clean, most classy winery. The service is top notch all the way. Thank you!

Sweet!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 days ago NEW
While on an Weekend getaway we stumbled across Holy Grail Winery! It was a delightful experience . We both tried a different wine and chocolate pairing and loved it. It was a unique take on wine tasting. The owners explained all of the wines and top notch chocolates. We wanted to take all of the wines and chocolates home! It was a highlight of our trip! Visited June 2016

 5 star
June 12 at 6:50pm · 
I have never seen such wonderful hosts and I really have never tasted so many good ones that I like in one place. The ice wine cabernet sauvignon is the best

“Awesome Sunday”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Went today with friends to Holy Grail Winery it was amazing both the owners took time to explain the wines and more about their winery and how it got started, the wine tasting paired with the chocolates were perfect will definitely come back loved it!

“WOW!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hubs and I were day-tripping in the wine country in St. Charles County, MO. We have been to almost every winery in the area and we were looking for something new. The small sign on Hwy 94 announcing the Holy Grail Winery caught us by surprise and we made a hard left into Augusta, MO. I admit upfront, I am a "homer". I love Missouri and the St. Louis area and I support our local wineries (sometimes too much ...yikes). Anyway, there are some drinkable Missouri reds, but I was blown away by the dry reds at the Holy Grail. My favorites were the Norton and the Pinot Noir, Lonnie, vintner, was fun to talk to and quite informative on all things wine. I learned a few tings. Lonnie's family has been in wine business for a long time. This new winery was even written up in a newspaper in Germany. Word is spreading. There was a patio off to the side, but we were on a mission and had no time to sit and enjoy. We WILL go back (and back and back). OH! did I mention the chocolates? Display cases of delectable chocolates and the heavenly smells. One wine was paired with chocolate...yum. It was a great stop and I cannot wait to share our new wines with friends.Visited May 2016

(5 of 5 Stars )
Different than any other winery in the Augusta/Defiance area, but not in a bad way!  Excellent hospitality and a fascinating story.  Lonnie and his wife have crafted a beautiful place and the wines are rich and flavorful.  Even if you don't drink wine it is still enjoyable with their chocolate and biscotti.  I am so tickled to have found this gem and look forward to making the trip to the Holy Grail Winery for years to come!!


““A "Must-See" in Augusta!””
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 1 week ago NEW
Excellent wine and the staff were friendly and informative. Our visit there was excellent and I did not expect to gain so much knowledge on the history and the details in making their wine. Absolutely the best tasting wine on our tour.Visited May 2016


“Holy Grail Winery ”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been to Holy Grail Winery three times recently and on each occasion we have been extremely happy with our experince. The winery is small and has a lovely homey atmosphere. Lonnie, the wine master, belives in quality versus quantity and his devotion to the hand crafted, old world wine-making traditions are evident in his wine. His lovely wife, Sharon, serves a wonderful gourmet chocolate and wine pairing (only $10)that is absolutely divine! Their beautiful tastings feature red wine decanted for the best flavor and includes wines paired with cheese crackers, meats, and chocolates. We feel the wines are priced very reasonably for their fine quality. If you are looking for a limited quantity, high-quality wine, not the "run of the mill" mass produced wine, then Holy Grail Winery is a must visit! Once you taste their wine, you will definitely be a repeat customer. We have traveled extensively in Napa Valley, France and Germany and the wines produced by Holy Grail Winery are the finest we have found outside of Europe.Visited May 2016

“Come here first when wine tasting”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I love wine tasting and we have been to Yakima valley, fingerlakes region, and Napa valley, but when we come three times a year we make it a point to come here. The vintner knows his wines and it is nice that he remembers us. I would argue that his are the best wines in the area. If you want quality wines then come here first and then compare his wines with the rest in defiance, Augusta, and Hermann. Yes, you will pay more here but you won't be disappointed. I have had his wines cellered for almost a year and they are still very good. I like that he is the only one that signs your bottles and truly takes pride in what he is doing. If you go to Augusta and Hermann region then do yourself a service and first start at holy grail winery. I have been accused of being a wine snob, but i make no apologies for being a fan of Holy grail.

reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star April 26 · 

Lonnie and Sharon are the Best ! Love, Love ,Love their Norton reserve. WOW !! 
Holy Grail is a favorite stop every time we head to Defiance and Augusta for wine.
Last trip bought and drank a bottle of their 7 blend red with my daughter and son in law and it
was one of the greatest days at a Missouri winery ever!!!


reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star  January 31 · 
Finding this perfect spot made our day. Our hosts were so friendly, know their business and make some of the finest vintage I have ever tasted!

 reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star March 6 · 
Hands down the best wine in Augusta. I can honestly say I loved every single one I tried. I wish I could have bought every bottle!!

03/07/2016
“Wines were as good as last year, some even better. We did like last years Port better though.”

02/23/2016
Customer said:
“Our hobby is visiting wineries. Yours is amoung the very top we have visited. Both in great product, (makes it sound a little tacky)I'll call it 'art',and presentation. We'll be back! I have noticed that the best do not need gift shops

02/22/2016, 2:10 pm
"Amazing wine, beautiful building"

December 24 at 11:31pm · 
Petit Verdot goes awesomely well with Portillo's beef! Still the best I've ever had!

12/19/2015
The best wine & chocolate in the universe! Most friendly proprietors & sparkling clean winery. 5 stars - top notch. Thank you!

12/19/2015
Can't wait till my family visits next spring and I can bring them in. Holy Grail is indeed a treasure in Augusta


12/5/15, 9:47 am
The staff was very  nice, the wine tastings fun and the ice wine was very good (not as sweet as some we have tasted!) Thank you. Joanne and Rich Linderman “As each has received a gift, use it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace:”  1 Peter 4:10 

12/11/15  ( 5 )star
Exquisite little winery.  The wines are gi-normas in taste and our hostess was lovely and gracious in knowledge of her wines. Do not pass up the chance to do the chocolate pairing. Can't wait to bring family to visit with us.

12/13/15
"Enjoyable"

November 13 
Toured multiple wineries in the area and each were beautiful and enjoyable but the Holy Grail Petite Verdot was easily my favorite. The color is so warm and beautiful but the bouquet really draws you in. Then the first taste... Simply a pleasure. Thanks for sharing!!

October 18 at 12:55pm
"Such an amazing place"

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
November 8 2015 
I thought was an outstanding collection of wines for all palates. Bought a whole case. I never buy a whole case! Norton Reserve  friends in tow!

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 18 · 2015
We had a great day, loved the vignoles. Will definitely be back.


Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 24 ·2015 

Very cute. Great wine. Amazing service with great personality.

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 19 · 2015
Outstanding wines! Fantastic dry red wines to try and to buy! Sweet wines are also great! What a hidden gem of a place!

 Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 27 · 2015
Our first time in the Missouri wine country and we stumbled on to this hidden gem. Great wines made by an awesome couple. The chocolate and wine pairing tasting is a must. We found our new favorite winery.

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 31 · 2015
The chocolate and wine tasting was amazing! We were well taken care of; the service was exceptional!

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 31 · 2015
I was visiting the wine trail for a girls weekend when we stumbled upon this winery. This winery is a must see! The owners are very friendly and knowledgeable. It was hard picking my favorite wine because they were all amazing!!

10/17/2015
"Chocolate with the wine pairing is the best ever."

10/13/2015
Very good wines and the chocolate tasting was a hit with my daughter in law! We will be back!

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
October 17 2015·  Holy grail winery is amazing! The wine is 
Like no other. I have been to many wineries in Missouri and they are one of the best.

10/5/2015 
"It was nice to try something new and different- The idea of combining the Chocolate and the wine was a great experience and the most memorable of the day- I told my aunt & uncle who live near by so they can go there also."

September 27 ·2015 
Happily greeted, quickly seated, and were delighted with the chocolate wine pairings. A great stop on a beautiful drive through Augusta.

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 25 · 2015
Very nice & quaint with a beautiful patio. Their Norton is very good!

August 17 at 5:30pm
We just got home from a wine tasting trip in Missouri from Chicago. Because of your area, we came home with 3 cases of wine and 3 from you guys. Thanks for signing our bottle and we can't wait to pair our petite verdot with a juicy porterhouse steak!

August 4 2015· Fantastic wines! Some of the best I've ever had. So glad we saw the sign and decided to stop. Your wines will be thoroughly enjoyed in Northern Illinois!!!!!

09/29/2015
“We just wish Holy Grail winery was bigger and had more exposure. Great lil establishment, great name, great selection and formulation of each wine. Destined for greatness! Next time we visit, we hope to see that you were able to expand. There's great potential here.”

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
September 25 · 2015
We just had the Petit Verdot we purchased a month ago and it was fantastic. Thanks to Holy Grail for making wonderful wines!

“Hidden gem!”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed July 25, 2015
We did the chocolate and wine pairing, as well as the separate red wine tasting. Very nice and homey tasting room. You can tell they take a lot of pride in their wine!

Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
July 12 · 2015
Hidden gem that needs to be explored! Great choice of red wines. Super friendly and educate you on the different wines.

“Katy Trail Tour de Wine”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed May 3, 2015

Without going into too much detail, we did a Katy Trail day ride; our own Tour de Wine. We simply happened upon the Holy Grail Winery. We were referred by staff at Kate's Coffee House (in Augusta). The Holy Grail Winery is a must visit and ranks up with any winery visit equal to Napa Valley, Sonoma Valley, or any other highly regarded viticulture areas. It is likely when visiting the Holy Grail you will be served by Lonnie, owner and winemaker. Lonnie's family wine making goes back to the early 1900's in the Herman Missouri area. The family tradition is well represented at Holy Grail Winery. We sampled most every wine and was not disappointed by any sample. Lonnie produces Nortons, Ports, and everything in-between. Unlike the large wine producers, Holy Grail Wine never touches stainless steel. All Holy Grail Wines are aged for no less than 24-mos. in Missouri oak barrels. We settled on a bottle of Cabernet Ice Wine best described as dangerously outstanding. If in Augusta, or the area, do not miss the opportunity to visit Lonnie and his terrific assortment of wines. We will be back, hope to see you there....Visited May 2015

 Reviewed Holy Grail Winery — 5 star
August 4 · 2015
Absolutely fantastic wine! Some of the best I've ever had!!! The owners make you feel very welcome. Do not pass this one up!

“The best Red in MO”
[5 of 5 stars] Reviewed July 11, 2015
Most of the reds we've had were all the same. This place specializes in dry reds and they did not disappoint. We've visited several wineries in MO and this one had by far the best Dry red. A little more expensive but worth it.Visited July 2015

[5.0 star rating]
8/9/2015
The chocolate and wine pairings were fabulous.  Their Cabernet Sauvignon was delightful. The rustic tasting room is adorable and they even let us take a photo with the holy grail.

[5.0 star rating]
9/5/2015
New favorite spot on the Augusta trail! What a hidden gem! My family and I loved all their wines, which is a rare occurrence. The owner serves all of the wines in vintage decanters, which is a great touch. Don't miss this place when you're driving through Augusta!

Today, 5:27 pm
The place smelled good when we walked in and they had excellent wines. Took home a bottle and will be back for more!

8/23/15, 8:43 pm
The chocolate & wine pairing was a lot of fun & very good!

8/15/15, 7:45 pm
Great wine! Will definitely be a repeat customer!

September 1, 2014 · 
Just wanted to drop by and Thank you for your Hospitality. And wish you a Happy Birthday !!! What a Pleasant surprise we had tasting your wines yesterday. You can taste the Love that you guys put into your " Labor" of Love. We'll be enjoying our Cayuga and Norton Private Reserve Today...

 10:23 pm
"Great Winery Great experience"

“My wife and I will be back! Wonderful private Norton Reserve!!! 

8:34 pm
The chocolate pairings were wonderful! No other winery that I've been to is doing this! (And I've been to almost every winery in the 94 corridor, Herman and st. Genevieve.) Congratulations and best wishes for your second year!!! We will be back!!!

8/1/15, 10:17 pm
High quality wines worth the price. Much better than the volume wineries. I'll be back.

7/3/15, 6:44 pm
Amazing, friendly service - and a great wine selection!

7/11/15, 7:27 pm
So welcoming, fun and charming.
​​​
6/28/15
“Wonderful” 

6/21/15
“Unique Missouri Wines! We found treasures when we came! Walked out with a case when we swore we were only going to buy a bottle. Every wine was superb!” 

6/15/15
“Quaint little winery, perfect! We will be back!” 

5/31/15
“Love your place and your wines...” 

4/11/15
“Great chocolate and wine tasting!” 

March 15 · Augusta, MO · 
Incredible wine and chocolate. Not the typical Missouri winery ... Owners are fabulous and they incorporated the Monty Python movie.....

3/27/15
“Hope to come back again” 

3/26/15
“Holy Grail has become my new favorite for reds and red blends. As a Missouri wine lover I'm excited to come back and spread the word. Cheers, Kyle Scarborough The Washington Tattoo Collective” 

3/21/15
“Keep up the good work!” 

3/15/15
“Another pleasant experience at Holy Grail, we will be back! My car even earned the name "Wine Wagon" today. I think it will stick.” 

3/15/15
“Customer service very good,” 

3/14/15
“Awesome wine! Awesome service!” 

3/9/15
“Enjoyed the conversation and the wine.” 

2/27/15
“Great Norton!” 

10/19/14
“Awesome experience!!! Loved our hostess and the wine. Away from the big wineries on the far end of town but so glad I found it. We'll make it a part of our annual fall tour!” 

10/18/14
“We like the wine as good as any we tried in the area and we have been to about 15 different winery's in the area.” 

5/16/15
“It's was my first time to Holy Grail & the information about the wine & tasting was great.” 

5/9/15
“Harry Potter theme!” 

5/2/15
“Knowledgeable  friendly. Excellent wines. Thanks!” 

4/12/15
“Fantastic wine and chocolate pairing. we will be back. really enjoyed your Norton...and the chocolate port was to die for. Congrats on really fine wine. Kathy O.”

2/7/15
“First time visit, you obviously love what you do. See you again...” 

1/29/15
“Excellent wine! Great customer service! I will be back!!!!!! A+” 

9/28/14
“Sharon was the perfect hostess. Really enjoyed the tasting and her description of the wines we selected.” 

[5.0 star rating]
6/30/2014
This winery is fantastic.  A must stop when in Augusta.  The Petit Verdot is absolutely fabulous.

[5.0 star rating]
9/15/2013
1 check-in First to Review
Listed in Wine Trip to Augusta
There are several wineries in this area and they all tend to blend together by the end of the night. Fortunately, Holy Grail really stood out in my mind. I tend to really like small tasting rooms that are quaint and noise-free, which is exactly what I found with their cozy and welcoming tasting room. The staff were really friendly and poured us several dark wines (and one white wine). We also tried a wine poured into a chocolate cup (yum!). I tend to like sweet dark wines, so I really enjoyed this place (and you will too if your tastes are similar to mine). More specifically, we really loved their dessert Chambourcin, and took home a bottle. In addition to the tasting room, they have a small, but nice deck outside. In sum, this is the place for you if you want to try some dark wines and escape the loud bands playing at the other wineries. I definitely plan to return in the future.

[5.0 star rating]
5/18/2014 The staff is amazing and so is their wine! They are so friendly and very knowledgeable about the wine. They have a very different look on how they make their wine and they are happy to share. My favorites are Cayuga and their Chamborcin. Overall, even though their are no tours is is my favorite Augusta winery!







The Holy Grail winery, which opened in March, is small in size, but its wines are full-bodied and big on taste. Photo by Scott Klingsick

If you want a quiet escape, try the Holy Grail Winery. You won’t find the Holy Grail on most lists of Augusta wineries. It only opened in March. The winery is small in size, but the wines are full-bodied and big on taste. Owner Lonnie Stonebraker, who was behind the counter with his fiancé, Sharon Smith, on the day we visited, has been making wines for more than 30 years.

Stonebraker is not after quantity when making wine. The winery is only producing 1,000 gallons a year. Stonebraker uses methods handed down from his ancestors, and all of his wines are made by hand.

Most people are familiar with the name of the winery through “Monty Python,” but the name is not from the popular, cult movie. Smith, who runs the business side of the operation, came up with the name. Stonebraker said, “People who have tried my wines said it was the Holy Grail of wines.”

For a decadent treat, step up to the chocolate bar and try the Norton Raspberry Dry Red inside a Belgium dark chocolate cup.

Holy Grail Winery
5505 Locust St Augusta, Missouri
(636) 221-7604 

by Jerry Castellano















Since the middle of the 19th Century winemaking has been an important part of Missouri culture. At one point, Stone Hill Winery of Hermann was the third largest winery in the world. With such a rich history, you might think the wine would be more highly regarded, but to steal a line from the late Rodney Dangerfield, our wines often get “no respect.”
Many vintners are working hard to see that the image and reputation of Missouri wines are commensurate with their qualities. Lonnie Stonebreaker is a native Missourian who has been making wine for about 30 years, beginning as a hobby. Competing on the national level brought him to the next level. He and his wife Sharon are in their third year of operating the Holy Grail Winery in Augusta, but he proudly points out a photo from the Sohn’s winery in Hermann taken in 1868 featuring his great, great uncle to demonstrate how long this endeavor has been part of his family heritage. While they offer a wide variety of wines, their focus is on their dry reds, “All aged in Missouri oak for at least two years before release. All the wines are handmade, and total production is only about 1,000 gallons a year. Lonnie is especially proud that Holy Grail Winery has created the worlds first ever seven blend wine; five Bordeaux grapes – Petit Verdot, Malbec, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Merlot with Pinot Noir & Missouri Norton Reserve.   Each bottle signed by the Vintner.  Each of the 192 bottles are individually numbered and signed.

How good is the wine? Wine Expert, Musician, Columnist and First Director for Milan, Italy’s “Guiseppe Verdi” Symphony Orchestra, John Axelrod visited Holy Grail as a tourist a few years ago, and proclaimed, “The Wines from this Vineyard are among Americas Best” The entire testimonial as well as a great amount of information can be found on their excellent and attractive website.

I highly recommend a visit to their tasting room. Enjoy a nice visit with Lonnie and Sharon as well as some samples of wine (and chocolate!) It’s worth the trip to Augusta. Very soon the winemaking itself will be moved from Gerald Missouri to the building across Locust Street.

Artist Richard Elliot